Getting a printer to work on Linux is pretty straight forward as long as you got the correct .ppd file for the printer. I struggled a couple of days with the PostScript ppd file – when infact it was the pxlmono ppd file that did the trick for me.

First, I installed cups

sudo aptitude install cupsys cupsys-driver-gutenprint foomatic-db-gutenprint foomatic-filters fontconfig libtiff4 libfreetype6

I also added Allow localhost in /etc/cups/cups.conf on certain places – to restrict access to cups-admin from other machines. Then I added myself to the group lpadmin to gain admin rights

sudo usermod -a -G lpadmin myusername

Remember the -a option which adds the user to groups rather than setting the primary group. Then restart cups

sudo /etc/init.d/cups restart

and add the printer via

http://localhost:631

My Ricoh Aficio MP C2500 is connected to my local network with a fixed ip. CUPS located the driver, I provided the ppd file – pxlmono located here: pxlmono pdd file.

