I have now tested four different services. All giving me access to my files from my iPhone. Though not all support Linux – which is a major drawback.

Dropbox

The most familiar site, and the one I have used for years. I’d say that Dropbox may be the simplest of them all. You have a dedicated folder, and whatever you want to keep in the cloud, you place this folder. It cannot be simpler. Version control online, allowing you to restore an older version of a file. 2 GB of free storage. $9.99/50GB and $19.99/100GB per month.  $99 per year for 50GB is just that – $99. Shave a bit off, and a wider market may open up.

ZumoDrive

Just discovered this. Instead of a folder, you get a mapped network drive. It is just as simple as Dropbox , but it comes with another feature: it allows you to sync whatever folder you have on your computer, without moving them to the ZumoDrive. You link them to your ZumoDrive, and the folders are automatically synced. The linked folders are placed in a folder structure by its computer and folder name. Quite nice. Of course you may also use the ZumoDrive the same ways as Dropbox , by placing files and folders directly on the drive. Their pricing is more complex; they give 2GB for free, and 50GB is priced same as Dropbox.

ZumoDrive’s iPhone app is also better integrated than Dropbox’. It has potential – if their known bugs are fixed. I am getting a bit tired of their 500 ERROR on their website as well…

SugarSync

This provider is somewhat different. You do get your multiple(!) folder structure which you can work directly in, but it is not intuitive – or let me say – not as simple as Dropbox or ZumoDrive. It comes with an application which lets you get full overview. I believe by learning how SugarSync works, might prove more feature full than the others. But I need to test more. They do provide 5GB free account, which is the biggest of them all. Their paid plan is cheaper than Dropbox; or they give you 60 GB for $99 a year. They also have a 30GB for $4.99/month. Unfortunately, they do not have Linux support.

Ubuntu One

Is a service provided from Canonical, which currently have the most populare Linux distro; Ubuntu – a Debian distro. It gives you 2 GB free storage, and is designed to integrate into your Gnome Nautilus file explorer. It also have a paid plan, which is surprisingly pricy. It also sport a Music shop which is a nice twist. It integrates well into Banshee Media player. I have not used Linux in a while, but did create my Ubuntu One account some time ago. However, as Dropbox also works flawlessly on Linux, and given that it is a rather new and somewhat unstable service, I have yet to stress test it.  They also want’s to be paid in order to use their iPhone app… which is a showstopper. At least if you plan syncing your mp3 collection and streaming them to your iPhone.

Conclusion

I dare not say one is better than the other. All provide an easy web interface. All have an iPhone app which let’s you gain access to all your stuff. Try them out, and see which one fits you best. I am doing this now, cause I am not quite sure if I dare building my own backup NAS. There may also be several other nice alternatives, but these are the ones I currently have installed on my computer.

