I have succesfully installed Debian Lenny and LXDE on an P3 600MHz 300MB ram Toshiba Tecra 8100. You would not believe how fast this machine is! LXDE runs like a charm! I am stunned!

Had some trouble getting the pcmcia to work – the kernel module for the controller did not load on boot. Also some tweaking due to some irq errors had to be resolved.

PCMCIA cards

SMC 2632W (v1) needs kernel module hostap_cs

D-Link DFE-670TXD needs kernel module pcnet_cs

/etc/modules

Maybe I don’t need all of them, but I added them in desperation – and when things finally worked – I left it alone! This is my /etc/modules:

lo
i83265
orinoco_cs
yenta_socket
ds
hostap_cs
pcnet_cs

/etc/pcmcia/config.opts

In the beginning of the file:

exclude irq 3
exclude irq 5
exclude irq 9

In the end of the file

card “D-Link DFE-670TXD PC Card”
manfid 0x0149, 0x4530
bind “pcnet_cs”

card “SMC2632W”
manfid 0x0156, 0x0002
bind “hostap_cs”

Running

sudo pccardctl ident

should identify the cards – so the two latter card-entries in /etc/pcmcia/config.opts should really not be necessary, but I needed them – don’t know why. Who cares – it works! 🙂

