Tip of the day

Gmail supports plus-addressing of e-mails. Messages can be sent to addresses in the format username+extratext@gmail.com, where extratext can be any string, and will arrive in the inbox of username@gmail.com. This allows users to sign up for different services with different aliases and then easily filter all e-mails from those services. In addition, should users start to receive spam messages that are directed to their e-mail address with the extra text, they will know what services have leaked out their e-mail address to others.(ref) However, some websites do not accept email addresses containing plus signs, despite the ‘+’ symbol being part of the mail address specification. (wikipedia)

I have personally noticed an increase of about 50% spam in my gmail account. I have registered my email so many different places, so I have no idea who the sinner is. I still regret the day I posten ONE post on a usenet group – in good faith because it was googlegroups. But my email was exposed. Never again!

