I like to have my desktop setup in a certain way. Especially I like to have Firefox/Minefield in fullscreen mode on its own desktop. Openbox lets you automate this. You might want to use xprop, as the inline comments in rc.xml says, to identify windows. I did this – but I was fooled. I use Slitaz at the moment, and xprop gives the following information:

WM_CLASS(STRING) = "Navigator", "Minefield"

The name attribute returns the webpage you’re on, so that’s useless. BUT – using either Navigator or Minefield in the rc.xml fails – it is executed by “firefox-bin”! I spent way to much time on this, so I am actually considering notifying the developer about this behaviour. My rc.xml now looks like this:

<application name="firefox-bin">
   <fullscreen>yes</fullscreen>
   <desktop>3</desktop>
</application>
